JRSA Forum, December 2012, Volume 30, Number 4



SAC Directors Elect JRSA's Executive Committee for 2012-2013

Statistical Analysis Centers Win Awards for Outstanding Publications

Missouri SAC Wins 2012 SAC Web Site Award


Leveraging National Standards to Accelerate Recidivism Studies: Nlets, BJS, and the States

New Chief of FBI Crime Statistics Unit Named

SBE and NIJ Formalize Research Collaboration

NRC Report Advocates Using Research to Shape Juvenile Justice Reform


JRSA's IBRRC Posts Reports from Idaho, New Mexico, and Vermont SACs

JRSA Concludes Evaluation of Utah Mentoring Program

ASC Panel Highlights Illinois State Researcher-Practitioner Partnerships

New Online Resources Available from NJJEC


New SAC Director Named in Alaska

News from Illinois, Iowa, Maine, New York, Oregon

The JRSA Forum is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics. JRSA is a national nonprofit organization. For membership or other information, call (202) 842-9330, e-mail cjinfo@jrsa.org, or visit our Web site: http://www.jrsa.org.

Karen F. Maline, Editor
Nancy Michel, Managing Editor


Phillip Stevenson, President
Stephen Haas, Vice President
Carmen Dorsey, Secretary/ Treasurer
Lisa Broidy, Delegate
Janeena J. Wing, Delegate
David Olson, Appointed Delegate
Jackie Vandercook, Past President

Joan C. Weiss, Executive Director

Ali Burnett, Office Manager
Sandra Dayton, Director of Finance and Administration
Shawn Flower, Research Associate
Karen F. Maline, Director of Member Services
Nancy Michel, Director of Publications
Stan Orchowsky, Research Director
Marc Osman, Web Site Manager
Jason Trask, Program Associate
Lisa Walbolt Wagner, Research Associate
Carrie Williamson, Research Associate

JRSA Website - Forum Webpage - Forum PDF - PRINT THIS ARTICLE  

Missouri SAC Wins 2012 SAC Web Site Award

Missouri SAC Web Site Award Winners

In 1997 JRSA established the SAC Web Site Award to recognize exemplary site design, functionality, and content. Not all SACs had web sites then, and the award was meant to both encourage site creation and to provide an example of what a well-designed site could accomplish. Some 15 years later, all SACs have Web sites, and the annual award is based on four criteria: content, technical quality, aesthetics, and innovation and creativity. The 2012 Web Site Award was presented to the Missouri Statistical Analysis Center.

Members of JRSA's Training, Technology, and Technical Assistance Committee are charged with selecting the winning Web site. In the first round of judging each member is randomly assigned a list of sites to visit and instructed to choose the top site. Members cannot judge their own site, and winning sites from the last three years are excluded. In the second round the finalist sites are visited by all committee members, and a winner is declared based on points applied for the four criteria.

The Web Site Award was announced at the Annual Business Meeting of the Statistical Analysis Centers held by webinar on October 17.